Sausage Meatballs


I spent most of my Saturday afternoon watching the Food Network, which had an ongoing theme of great comfort foods. Now I wouldn’t necessarily suggest that when someone mentions ‘comfort food’ you immediately think of meatballs, but I definitely think that these qualify as a great comfort food! I found this recipe for Italian Meatballs and adapted my own version using spicy sausage instead of ground beef.

I have never made my own meatballs before. It’s kind of a mix between disgusting and fun. You mix all the ingredients together with your hands and roll out each of the meatballs, so please, please, PLEASE wash your hands! Here is my recipe!

SAUSAGE MEATBALLS

Ingredients:

12 oz spicy sausage
1/2 medium sized onion
2 cloves garlic
1/2 cup bread crumbs1/3 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 cup chopped parsley
1 egg white
1/3 cup all purpose flour
4 Tbs. vegetable oil
1 Tbs. worcestershire
1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes

Directions:

Dice the onion and mince the garlic. Heat 2 Tbs. vegetable oil in a small skillet on medium heat and add onions and garlic, allowing them to sweat out and get soft, but not caramelize.

Prepare the meatball mix in a large bowl. Remove sausage from casing, add bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, parsley, egg white, worcestershire and red pepper flakes. Once onions and garlics are done, add them to the mix as well.

Use your hands to mix together all the ingredients. Make sure you wait a few minutes for the onions and garlic to cool before you stick your hands in there though. Once a homogenous mixture is created, roll the meat mixture into small balls (about 1 Tbs.) and line up on a baking sheet.

Put flour in a shallow bowl and start to heat remaining vegetable oil in pan. For this, I used the same pan that I used for the garlic and onions to keep that flavor going. Coat each meatball in flour, shaking off the excess, then move to pan over medium heat. Continue to cook meatballs until they are cooked all the way through and crispy brown on the outside.

Once done, transfer the meatballs to a plate covered in paper towels to soak up excess grease.

This made about 40-50 meatballs for me and I used them to make spaghetti and meatballs. I have A LOT left over and I just cooked the ones that I was going to use for dinner that night. For the rest, I kept them on the cookie sheet that I lined them up on and put them in the freezer for about 10 minutes to ‘flash-freeze’ them. After 10 minutes, I was able to throw them into a plastic bag without worrying about them sticking together. So now when I’m ready to use them again, I can just take out as many as I need and return the rest to the freezer!

 

frozen meatballs

 

 

 

delicious meatballs ready for their pasta marriage 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sausage Meatballs

Leave a Reply

