No Knead Bread


So I was trying to come up with a witty joke about “no-knead bread”…something about the need for no-knead bread…play on words…get it? Well, obviously I haven’t put it all together yet, but there is something there, I think…

Onto the bread! When I search online for recipes (usually on Tastespotting), the recipes that always catch my eye are the bread recipes. I LOVE bread. I LOVE carbs. So without further adieu, here is another bread recipe!

NO KNEAD BREAD

Ingredients
-3 1/4 cups flour
-3/4 Tbs yeast
-1 tsp. salt
-1/4 cup corn meal
-1 1/2 cup water

Directions
-Combine flour, salt, yeast and water in a large bowl. Stir until all of the dry flour has been mixed in. Let the dough sit, covered with a towel, on the counter for at least 2 hours.

-After dough has risen, flour your hands (the dough is pretty sticky)and portion the dough off into the desired rolls, loaves, etc. I chose to do a few small rolls and I saved the rest of the dough in the refrigerator. I think that the dough in the refrigerator will last about two weeks.

-Cover a baking sheet or wooden paddle with cornmeal and place the shaped rolls on it. Let rise for an hour. After an hour, use a sharp knife to make slits in the shape of an “X” on the top to allow the bread to expand as it bakes.

-Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Bake for about 30 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

