Homemade Peanut Butter


In an effort to save money, I’ve been trying to come up with things that I could make myself rather than buying pre-packaged items from the grocery store. So I came up with a couple of ideas and happened to walk by a discounted food processor in Target and thought it would be a good investment. So far, I’d say it definitely is. Yesterday I made homemade peanut butter and I plan to make a homemade pesto or homemade salsa this week.

The great thing about a food processor is that you can control the consistency of what you make. For my peanut butter, I generally like it somewhere in between totally smooth and really chunky, so I was able to get it exactly to where I wanted. So my recipe was done pretty much just by feel and taste, but this was what I started with.

HOMEMADE PEANUT BUTTER

Ingredients:

-2 cups roasted, salted peanuts
-2 Tbs. vegetable oil (or peanut oil)
-1 1/2 Tbs. brown sugar

Directions:

Put peanuts and brown sugar in the food processor and pulse a few times to break up. Then, while on low speed, slowly pour oil through the feed tube. Use a spatula to loosen the mixture from the sides of the bowl so it all gets combined together.

From here, continue to add more peanuts, more brown sugar, or more oil to create the consistency and flavor that you want.

When I first made it, the peanut butter was not quite as thick as I wanted, but I put it in a container to store it and left it in the fridge overnight. Now (as you can see below) it has come together and thickened very nicely.

I don’t generally refrigerate store-bought peanut butter, but since this is homemade and preservative-free, I’m going to keep this in the refrigerator and date it–I’m not sure, but I’d say it’s probably good for 1 1/2 to 2 months refrigerated.

With such a simple recipe, it is VERY important that you use good ingredients. Although I didn’t use them this time around, a lot of people recommend that you use shelled peanuts to get a more natural and full-flavored taste. Also, I had intended to use honey in this recipe, but I came home to find no honey in my pantry. Brown sugar was my substitute and I think it added a nice subtle sweetness.

Leave a Reply

