Cranberry-Orange Scones


Delicious – plain and simple.

Years ago, when I first started working at Starbucks, they carried these delicious cranberry-oranges scones. Some stores still do, but I haven’t seen them in any stores near me in a looonnngg time. So, I figured that I could just make them myself. Can’t be that hard, right? Well…it was kind of a disaster, but in the end I made it work. I don’t know how, but they turned out great.

The whole process started off a little shaky, so I should have expected trouble all the way through. I went out to the store and ended up having to go to three different stores — still didn’t get everything I wanted. Who knew it’d be so hard to find fresh cranberries? I ended up having to use dried cranberries, which worked just fine. The other thing I couldn’t find was buttermilk, so I found a way to make it at home. Basically,  just add a little lemon juice to regular milk and let it sit for a few minutes. After I had mixed most of my dry ingredients and the oven was preheated, I opened my fridge to find that I had no eggs. So I had to go back out and get eggs — at that point it had started raining….wonderful. So then I got home and mixed everything up and it was the step where I was supposed to pour the dough out and get it ready to cut. My dough was SO moist. I don’t know if I did something wrong or if I had a bad recipe, but I added some more flour (change reflected in my recipe below) and got it to the right consistency.

Like I said–it turned out just fine in the end, but it sure was a frustrating process. CRISIS AVERTED!

CRANBERRY ORANGE SCONES

Ingredients (Scones):

-2/3 cup sugar
-1 large orange, washed
-1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
-3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
-1 Tbs. baking powder
-1/4 tsp. baking soda
-1/4 tsp. salt
-1 stick butter
-1 cup cranberries (fresh cranberries if you can, but dried works too)
-1 egg
-2/3 cup buttermilk
-a little milk for glazing
Ingredients (Orange Glaze):

-2 cups sifted confectioners sugar
-3 Tbs. of orange juice
-zest of one orange

Directions:
 -Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Nest two baking sheets of the same size together, then line the top one with parchment paper. (Using two pans for baking will keep the scones from browning too quickly on the bottom.)

-Measure the sugar into a small bowl. Zest the orange into the sugar. Stir the orange zest into the sugar and set aside.

-In a medium bowl, mix together both flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and ⅓ of the orange-sugar. Cut the butter into cubes and add it to the flour mixture; use your fingers to break the butter into the flour until the mixture looks like cornmeal.
-In another bowl, whisk the egg with the buttermilk until smooth. Toss the cut-up cranberries with half the remaining orange sugar. Add the buttermilk-egg mixture and the sugared cranberries to the flour mixture and stir until moistened.
-Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead just until the dough comes together and the cranberries are evenly distributed. Pat dough into a ½-inch round, brush milk over the surface, and sprinkle with the remaining orange sugar. With a floured knife, cut the dough into 8 to 10 wedges.

-Place the scones on the prepared pan and bake 15 to 20 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through.

-For the glaze, place the confectioners sugar in a bowl. Add the orange zest and enough orange juice to make the icing thin enough to drizzle. Add more sugar if too thin and add more juice if too thick. Using a spoon, drizzle the icing over the scones.


Leave a Reply

