Eggs Benedict with Asparagus


Last week for Mother’s Day, I was so lucky to have my mom come visit me in D.C. On Sunday, we went out and had brunch at KramerBooks in Dupont Circle. We both had a delicious plate of french toast, but then I saw the waitress walk by with someone else’s food — eggs benedict with prosciutto, asparagus, an english muffin and a creamy hollandaise sauce. Mmm! I have never even tried eggs benedict before, so I decided that was going to be my next kitchen mission. The only eggs I’ve ever had are scrambled, fried and hard-boiled…basically I’ve never had an egg where the yolk was moving around. So after making this, I must say — I’ve been missing out!

In my opinion, this is not really an ‘easy’ recipe. I wasted 2 eggs and really struggled with the hollandaise sauce. So I think that I need more practice, but in the end, it came together. Sorry for the lack of pictures during the process — it is very hard to poach an egg and take a picture at the same time.

EGGS BENEDICT WITH ASPARAGUS

Ingredients

-1 english muffin (cut in half and toasted)
-asparagus
-2 eggs
-prosciutto
-salt & pepper
-cayenne pepper
-olive oil

Hollandaise Sauce Ingredients:

-1 stick of butter (melted)
-3 egg yolks
-1/2 Tbs. lemon juice
-1/2 Tbs. dijon mustard
-1 Tbs. cream
-pinch of cayenne pepper
-pinch of salt

Directions:
I made the hollandaise sauce first and then let it sit while I did the rest. I think that my biggest mistake with making this could have been that I used a food processor to mix everything instead of doing it in a double-boiler. I think that a double boiler may have been the key to making the sauce thick and creamy. So here are my directions for making it in a food processor:

-Combine lemon juice, egg yolks, mustard, cream, cayenne pepper and salt in food processor on low.

-While the food processor is still on low, slowly add the melted butter in a steady stream.

Now, onto the rest.

-Toss asparagus lightly in olive oil and cook in a skillet until tender.

-Toast english muffin and lay a piece of prosciutto on top of each side. Lay english muffins over top of the bunch of asparagus.

-Boil a pot of water. To poach the eggs, crack the egg into a bowl (do only one at a time and be sure not to break the yolk when you crack the shell). When the water is boiling, take a wooden spoon and stir the water until a whirlpool starts. Drop the egg into the center of the whirlpool and then turn the stove down to low heat. The egg should only take about 3 minutes to cook. Remove egg from the pot (carefully!) and place on top of the prosciutto on the english muffin. Repeat again with the second egg.

-Once both eggs are done and placed on the prosciutto, pour the hollandaise sauce over the top and sprinkle with a pinch of cayenne pepper.

I think I did a fairly good job for my first try…at least I liked it!!
Enjoy!  😀

3 thoughts on “Eggs Benedict with Asparagus

  1. Insert your OBD two scanner into this the connector. It scans and reads your vehicle’s internal laptop or computer and then experiences on what it has found out.

Leave a Reply

