Fresh Pesto Pizza


Ever since I got my food processor, I’ve wanted to make my own pesto. Well now, here it is! Fresh basil, parmesan cheese, garlic, pine nuts, olive oil, and a little bit of love — yuummmyy!  It’s kind of difficult to write this recipe down since I made it by feel to some extent. Like I have no idea how much olive oil I actually added, but below is my recipe, as close as I could get it in words. Basically, watch and taste as you go to get the best result.

FRESH PESTO
Ingredients:
-2 cups of fresh basil leaves
-1/2 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese
-1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
-1/3 cup of pine nuts
-3 cloves of garlic, chopped
-salt and peper to taste

Just a word of warning, pine nuts are ridiculously expensive!! I spent $8 at Trader Joe’s for an 8 oz. bag. I guess I’ll have to make some more pesto…

Directions:
-Add basil leaves, pine nuts, and garlic to food processor. Pulse a few times to combine.
-Slowly drizzle olive oil as the food processor runs.
-Scrape sides with a rubber spatula and add grated parmesan cheese. Pulse again until well combined.
-Add salt and freshly ground pepper to taste.

Now, on to the pizza! I just used store-bough wheat pizza dough. Very easy — Roll out the pizza dough on a floured surface. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spread pesto around the dough, sprinkle quartered cherry tomatoes, and top with chunks of fresh mozzarella cheese. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

A delicious summertime dish. Even when it’s 98 degrees and pouring outside.

2 thoughts on “Fresh Pesto Pizza

Leave a Reply

