Zucchini-Ricotta Fritters


Leave it to me to make vegetables bad for you! I found this recipe in my Food & Wine magazine and just couldn’t get it out of my head, so I finally got around to making it. I was not disappointed – these things are DELICIOUS!

Instead of thinking of it as an alternative for vegetables, I think of it as a way to get your salty/crunchy/fried fix with vegetables, instead of turning to fried chicken or french fries. Feel better about this already, don’t you?!

Ingredients:
2 zucchinis (about 7 ounces each)
2 cloves of garlic
3 scallions
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
2 eggs
2 tsp. lemon zest
salt and pepper
3/4 cup flour
olive oil (for frying)
lemon wedges (for serving)

Directions:
Begin by shredding the zucchinis into a large bowl. I used a cheese grater for this – my suggestion is to use what ever grater will make the pieces larger and coarser. If your zucchini-gratings are too thin, it will likely be too mushy. Chop garlic and scallions very thinly.
In a large bowl, combine zucchini, garlic, scallions, ricotta, eggs, lemon zest, and 1 tsp each of salt and pepper.

Next, add 3/4 cups of flour and fold into mixture until just combined.


In a large skillet, heat thin layer of olive oil. Once the oil is simmering, begin to drop 2-tablespoon mounds of the zucchini mixture into the pan. I used an ice cream scoop to add the batter to the pan. Spread them to form approximately 3-inch fritters. Flip fritters when browned – it takes about 1-2 minutes per side.



Once done, remove from pan and let the fritters drain on a paper towel or on a cooling rack. Serve right away with lemon wedges.

The fresh lemon is a MUST! I can’t even describe the flavor combination that it creates.

Did I just say “flavor combination”? I think I’ve been watching too much Food Network…Keep in mind that this recipe makes about 20 fritters (A LOT). Thankfully, can be saved for a short period of time and you can put them in the oven at 325 degrees to make them crispy and warm again.

2 thoughts on “Zucchini-Ricotta Fritters

  1. OK, Miss Chef….This sounds great (especially when you add the lemon…you know how I love lemon!)…Do you think that somehow this could be baked instead of fried?…Cuz it sounds gooooooooooooooooood!

Leave a Reply

