Penne with Roasted Asparagus and Balsamic Butter


It has been over a year since my last post, but fear not! I am back…with an amazing new recipe! I hope everyone is doing well and that your holiday spirit is in full swing. As I type this, I am listening to my Vince Guaraldi Trio Holiday Radio station on Pandora.

When I found this recipe, I wasn’t really sure what to expect with the balsamic vinegar, but I ended up really loving it. You reduce the balsamic vinegar and mix in a bit of brown sugar  — it adds an incredible, but not overpowering, sweetness to this pasta. Also, anything with asparagus is good in my book!
IMG_1646

Ingredients:
– 1 lb asparagus
– 1 Tbs. olive oil
– 1 1/2 tsp. salt
– 1/2 tsp. pepper
– 1/2 cup + 2 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
– 1/2 tsp. brown sugar
– 1 lb whole wheat penne
– 1/4 cup butter
– 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

IMG_1650

Directions:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees. Snap the ends off the asparagus and discard them. Cut the asparagus spears into 1-inch pieces. Spread out the asparagus onto a baking sheet and toss with olive oil and 1/4 teaspoon each of salt and freshly ground pepper. Roast until tender (approximately 10 minutes).

Put the balsamic vinegar in a small saucepan. Simmer and reduce until 3 tablespoons remain. Stir in brown sugar and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. Remove from the heat.

Cook the penne in a large pot of boiling, salted water. Drain the pasta and toss with butter, balsamic vinegar mixture, remaining salt, parmesan, and asparagus. Serve and sprinkle with additional parmesan.

ENJOY!

IMG_1658

2 thoughts on “Penne with Roasted Asparagus and Balsamic Butter

  1. This looks great. I’ve got to come visit so you can make this for me..Love the idea of the balsamic reduction w/brown sugar. Your father won’t do asparagus, but we’re already talking about using broccoli or spinach. BTW, love the WordPress holiday show!

Leave a Reply

